Have I turned a corner?

Since my last post back in February, my life has been pretty hectic.  In March I went back to University as I am currently completing a year long course to convert from a nurse to become a health visitor.  My life has been consumed by study and essay writing!  So I’m counting down the months until life returns to normal.

In August I had a few weeks annual leave and my fiancé and I went to Bulgaria for a week.  I was desperately dieting prior to going as I have major hang ups about my chubby legs! My weight dropped a few pounds to just under nine stone, but I still felt self conscious of my legs and insisted on sitting around the pool in board shorts!

Anyway, while I was there I felt super crap about myself as there were women parading around with their super toned bodies wearing thongs! So, I have decided that I am fed up with feeling like this and I am now ultra motivated to do something about it.  On my honeymoon next year, I don’t want to be wearing my board shorts.  I want to wear bikini bottoms (not a thong!) and be able to walk around confidently! I want toned legs….

So, upon return from holiday I started doing pilates (check out blogilates.com).  I am currently working through the beginners calendar and jeez does it hurt! The first week I did it six days in a row and it felt like every muscle in my body was hurting!  Last week I started jogging again on my treadmill too. Hooray!  I ditched C25K earlier in the year and decided that this time I didn’t want to use it.  I felt too pressured by it.  This time I wanted to go with my body, stop giving myself a hard time and just enjoy jogging.

So that’s what I’ve been doing. I set the treadmill for thirty minutes (4 mph) and then record my jogging times on my phone. Last week I started jogging at intervals of 8,5,5 minutes and on 27th August managed 11,5,4,3 (23 mins). Then yesterday I jogged for 20 minutes, walked for 2, then jogged for 8 minutes!!!! I really don’t know how I have done that as I’ve only been back on the treadmill for two weeks. All I can put this down to is the pilates? Has working on my core strength complimented the jogging?

When I was doing the C25K I was really hung up on my breathing. In fact I felt like an asthmatic and was starting to wonder if I had sports induced asthma.  But, breathing doesn’t seem to be a problem now either.  I feel like I am breathing deeper from lungs and maintaining a steady rhythm.

So, is this the pilates? Or is this psychological because I have stopped giving myself a hard time?

I’m looking forward to my next run early in the week. If I don’t manage to jog for longer, I’m not going to beat myself up about it. The good thing is that I’m doing something good for my body. That’s all that matters.
image
image  

Leave a Reply

