Couch to 10k (Week 1 Day 1)

It has been six months since I last went to they gym. As a result, my weight has crept up.  I have put on 10lb in eight weeks over Christmas! Arghh!

I feel so uncomfortable in my skin that I decided that it is time to take action and have bought myself a treadmill. Don’t get me wrong, I am not overweight, in fact my BMI is healthy, but my body lacks tone.  Some muscular definition in my legs would be great, but I find it hard to believe that my legs could ever tone up!

So, yesterday I started the Couch to 10k app, which consisted of a five minute warm up and then alternate 60 seconds of jogging and 90 seconds of walking for 20 minutes. I’ve realised that I have failed at my previous attempts to run because I try to run too fast and burn myself out quickly, so I kept a slow pace. Running at 4mph and walking at 3.5mph.

I’m ridiculously unfit because I was huffing, puffing and could feel it in my legs by time I had finished! But, I am happy to have taken this step. I really hope I can stick to it.  I really cannot imagine being able to run 10k. That would be a huge achievement for me!

Anyway, today I met a friend for lunch. We went to La Tasca for tapas, which unfortunately doesn’t feature in my healthy eating plan.  So, I decided to hop back on the treadmill for a fairly easy incline walk which turned into a little jog at the end! I actually managed to jog for five minutes!

To all you hardcore runners out there, I know five minutes is nothing, but for me it’s a big deal!!!

So tomorrow is day two of the Couch to 10k app and you know what…. I can’t wait!!!!

7 thoughts on “Couch to 10k (Week 1 Day 1)

  1. Keeping it slow and steady seems to be the way to go. I started C25K back in June and am running my first 10K race in a few weeks. Looking forward to reading about your progress. You can totally do this! 🙂

  2. Congrats on starting the plan too and thanks for following my blog. I find the walking/running so much easier because, as you say, previously I’d try to run too far and for too long and burn myself out. Also having ‘Laura’ talking to me helps to stay focussed and not start to weep into the track after a minute. I look forward to your progress.

Leave a Reply

